• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"The Beckham Experiment" a review

From bigsoccer.com

"The empty vessel makes the loudest sound."
    William Shakespeare

"Well I guess it all started the first time I went through the second grade. I caught my reflection in a spoon while I was eating my cereal, and I remember thinking 'Wow, you're ridiculously good looking, maybe you could do that for a career.'"
    Derek Zoolander

Just finished reading Grant Wahl's 'The Beckham Experiment'. So I'm later than a Paul Scholes Soccer News Topics tackle on this, but I only received my copy last week. Got through it in three nights, no problem. This is my review:

I once tried to be a proper football journalist. But I failed, sort of – I still write about football for a living, but I deal now in lightweight opinion, leaving a trail of cynical banter and lame gags in my wake. In short, I'm too vain and too cowardly to make it as a hack. I don't like asking difficult questions because I want people to like me; if you can't ask a difficult question, you can forget ever making it to the top in journalism.

Grant Wahl, however, is a proper journalist. In writing 'The Beckham Experiment', Wahl has asked the questions that needed to be asked; he has done much the same thing throughout his career as a soccer reporter for Sports Soccer News Topics Illustrated.