•  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Parents Causing Ref Shortage

http://www.thestate.com/news/local/a...205277104.html

No games because of no ref.

A lot of parents are idiots. They all think that their Little Landon or Little Mia are so great and can never do wrong. Additionally, those that are the most outspoken seem to have the least understanding of the rules of the game - any game and in in any sport. I would never ref. The verbal abuse isn't worth it.

Comment

I have been a referee for 3 years. I was an AR at a TARSA (traveling rec) tournament outside of Tampa for a U16 girls game. I was standing on the mid line and the defenders for the team to my right were playing about 10 yards into the half of the field they were attacking & the forward of the other team was a yard inside her half of the field. The ball got cleared into the other half and the parents were screaming OFFSIDES (it's not plural, folks). Even when I explained that the attacker was well within her half of the field when the ball was kicked (thus, impossible to be offside) they disagreed.

What most parents don't understand (in addition to not understanding MANY of the rules of the game) is that the AR isn't watching what is happening to the ball, they are watching the second to last defender and the attacking players while glancing at the action where the ball is to catch the moment the ball is passed. Most spectators only watch where the action is and have NO clue where the position of downfield players is when the ball is kicked/headed.

Do I want to quit? No. I really don't care about parents, I do it to give back to the game and I do it for the players.

Comment

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post