Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gauging “Level of Play”

Maybe this has already been covered but can others share some their experiences / ideas on how best to determine if their son/daughter can play at the “level” of specific target schools? This presumes that you already have a general feel for their capabilities from their current endeavors (HS, club, etc.).

I could envision university ID camps being the ideal setting as the coaches themselves would/could provide direct feedback (and/or express/not express interest in your kid). However, I don’t know if that is how those programs work.

Watching past games for the specific schools one has interest in seems reasonable but I am not a professional coach, so making real comparisons there seems challenging.

Does anyone really rely on what their club coach suggests? I get the impression they are only up to speed on a handful of specific programs (at best) across D1/D2/D3.

How many try to get in touch with former HS and/or club alumni to gauge their experience? I have to say that our club doesn’t seem to do much (if anything) on this front. So it would be a bit of a crap shoot and/or creepy to try to reach these “former players”.

Appreciate thoughts.

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
    Maybe this has already been covered but can others share some their experiences / ideas on how best to determine if their son/daughter can play at the “level” of specific target schools? This presumes that you already have a general feel for their capabilities from their current endeavors (HS, club, etc.).

I could envision university ID camps being the ideal setting as the coaches themselves would/could provide direct feedback (and/or express/not express interest in your kid). However, I don’t know if that is how those programs work.