Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DA is great, but there I should one thing it won't ever have...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DA is great, but there I should one thing it won't ever have...

This DA player is in the DA 'tween year as a HS soph played high school this year. Great quote - "This is my first year of playing high school soccer and it’s the best experience I’ve ever had, I wouldn’t trade it for anything,”

http://www.orlandosentinel.com/sport...208-story.html

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
    This DA player is in the DA 'tween year as a HS soph played high school this year. Great quote - "This is my first year of playing high school soccer and it’s the best experience I’ve ever had, I wouldn’t trade it for anything,”

And he didn't make DA? That kid is class and one of best around.

Comment

again it goes back to what some say. Not every good kid is picked for DA or some just choose not to play. to me the DA is still very behind in what qualities they need to look at. then add top colleges what the DA style of play some skill lots of running and very strong pushy players. This is a fact.

Comment

This kid and others like him is why DA is adding single year U15 next year (that and to thwart boys ECNL). With the two year combined teams there are younger players/late bloomers who will get overlooked for the older ones, who won't always necessarily be better skilled. They would often times get cut or be given a "pre-academy" team to play on and had to just hope they made the full DA team the next year. Many won't. As another said it also shows that the DA selection process isn't always transparent or even correct. I'm glad he had a chance to see the other side so he can make better informed choices moving forward. Moving DA to the younger years is one way for USSF to get their hooks into players before they even have to make the HS choice.

Comment