Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm a good coach who never played soccer

So I'm a pretty good youth soccer coach, but I never played soccer. But I discovered my knack for coaching late in life and I'm too old to play in an adult league to pick up actual playing experience.

Should I just go to the dying hole and wait for Jesus?

How do you know you are a good coach? How do you teach them Coerver ball skills? How do you teach them tactical attack and formation, having no direct knowledge?

I love architecture, but I am not an architect. In fact, I can't even draw. That's why I don't teach architecture.

Comment

As long as you don't have any kids you should be fine to coach according to the brain trust on TS.

Comment

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
        So I'm a pretty good youth soccer coach, but I never played soccer. But I discovered my knack for coaching late in life and I'm too old to play in an adult league to pick up actual playing experience.

Good for you. But stick to rec leagues and/or low level travel leagues. You will never gain the experience / knowledge to teach all the aspects of the game to high level players

Comment

Zzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Comment

How do you know you are a good coach? How do you teach them Coerver ball skills? How do you teach them tactical attack and formation, having no direct knowledge?

I love architecture, but I am not an architect. In fact, I can't even draw. That's why I don't teach architecture.
            You're perfectly qualified to participate in a case study on logical fallacies though.

Comment

In that analogy, wouldn't a soccer player be Bob the Builder instead of an architect? And why would Bob the Builder automatically be a good architect when he's a builder? My kid's highschool team coach played at a high level and he's not that good of a coach. Those games are painful to watch.