Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this bad sportsmanship?

I heard from a friend that a PAC team beat a Seattle Utd ECNL team 9-1 team today. Is this bad sportsmanship to run up the scor like this?

As a coach, I will start to pull back after a 5 or 6 goal lead. I implement restrictions on the team.

1. Any player that has already scored can no longer score. The team must find players that have not yet scored. I make it a competition to see who can provide the most assists.

2. All players, including the goalkeeper, must touch the ball. The team must move the ball around to find any players that have not yet connected a pass. This forces the players to move without the ball to get into clean passing lanes.

3. Around the world. The team must play to the striker first, who must shield the ball and play wide. The ball must then continue down that side of the pitch and be played to the goalkeeper who then must play out the opposite way. Players can play inside to the 10 or 6, but the ball must make it's way outside before playing back to the keeper. This is a great exercise that forces several things: the striker has to play with his back to goal and shield and the goalkeeper must switch the field of play.

4. If the game gets away even more, I make it a giant Rondo. No shots allowed, just possession. Again this forces the players to move without the ball to create passing lanes.

I prefer to force my team to develop, not just route weaker teams.

Comment