Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Roster size

Last year, my kid's varsity team had 20 players. This year, it has 25. The coach added a number of freshmen and sophomores to a team that only lost a few to graduation.

Without getting into the talent of the new players, I think when you have too many players and the coach doesn't cut upper classmen, the freshmen should play JV. What's happening now is the back line defense is set so there are 20 players being rotated in for the 6 remaining spots. That's just too much and impossible for a coach to manage, especially an inexperienced coach. All the players seem about equal in talent so I don't know how the playing time will shake out.

As a coach myself. I can say that this rarely works out. The coach either tries to play everyone less than ideal minutes and makes all the players upset or defines the roster and a bunch sit the bench all year which leads to a toxic environment. Neither works. I can speak from my coaching experience. I had a team that won the conference championship with the same core group finish last the next year because I had too many players to manage. I learned from that experience and reduced the roster the next season and won the conference again.

When numbers are against you, it's better for freshmen and sophomores to play JV where they can play a lot and develop. I see a very long season ahead for my kid's team.

Completely agree the roster is too big. However, if you can play, you can play. Some freshmen are good enough to become varsity starters, and those kids should be on varsity.

Comment

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
      Last year, my kid's varsity team had 20 players. This year, it has 25. The coach added a number of freshmen and sophomores to a team that only lost a few to graduation.