Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to tell if a player is developing? Coaches please

How can a coach tell if a player is developing? Do coaches care about individual development or is it more about team development? Seems like the benchmark for development is if a team wins or not. What are good and bad things to watch for with players?

Simple

If they don't get cut at tryouts next time around and make the team. Also take it as a sign they are not developing if the get the axe from the team after tryouts.

Comment

I only speak for myself but as a coach I absolutely care about individual development. Really, the "team" is not a separate being but rather made of the players. So if the players do not develop then the team does not develop either.

I think what you are asking is whether a coach pays specific attention to those players that come along more slowly than the rest. This depends on age somewhat but I routinely work one on one with a player that struggles with a concept and give specific homework if they need to simply work extra on their own.

I disagree that a win loss record is that much of an indication of collective growth but it is one of many considerations when there are trends over time.

More importantly a game is where I can see how players deal with themes at practice while under pressure. So if we focus, for example, on the first touch or a specific tactic such as defending in numbers then the game tells me how they are progressing on these themes.

As a parent, you can routinely ask your kid what they are working on at practice then watch the game differently. Instead of watching just the movement of the ball, focus instead on the themes and judge for yourself how well your child is doing on just that topic.