Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Elite 64

I am a current freshman in high school looking to play D3 women’s soccer preferably a NESCAC (academics and location). My team plays in the E64 league. Do I have a shot at playing for these schools despite not playing for an ECNL or GA team? Are players in these leagues significantly better (quality of play, technical skills, off-ball IQ, etc.) than a player on an E64 team? I am going to attend ID camps so I will see what the teams and schools are like. (Note: There are no ECNL teams close to where I live, most are an hour or more away which will not work with my family’s schedule. There is one GA team but the roster is very big. I was offered to be a practice player but I was told I would be one for the next few years so it isn’t worth it to me if I can’t go to games/tournaments/showcases. I do not plan on switching because I am very happy with my teammates, coach, and where games/practices are.)

College coaches don't recruit teams or leagues they recruit players. Most players are not "recruited" or "discovered" - that's pretty much left to the kids at the very top, and the very top D1 soccer schools. For all the other schools, the keys are:
    1. Academic - be a kid that easily gets into the school so the coach knows you can handle the academic load
    2. Be a player at/above the teams current level of play - look at their roster, watch them play, can you see where you add?
    3. Stalk the coach - write & call to convince them that their school is where you want to be and find a way to get in front of them so they can see you perform. D3 coaches generally recruit regionally, so finding out what events they are attending should be pretty easy - guest play on a team if you have to and perform when they show up. Camps are fine, but they don't duplicate the match.