Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

College recruitment

How does it work? Like, not D1- but D2 or 3. How involved should the club coaches be? If a player gets noticed at a college showcase by a college coach, what happens next?

im new to this level of soccer and I’d love some actual insight. Thanks!

Originally posted by Guest View Post
    How does it work? Like, not D1- but D2 or 3. How involved should the club coaches be? If a player gets noticed at a college showcase by a college coach, what happens next?

im new to this level of soccer and I’d love some actual insight. Thanks!
    College coaches don't window shop at showcases. They come to watch players who reached out to them first and expressed interest in the program and school. Yes occasionally another player might catch their eye but really they are on the sidelines to see specific players.

Prior to showcases players should reach out to coaches with a resume and a 2-3 minute highlight video, and the game schedule once available. Double check with your team coach to make sure you're' either starting first or 2nd half (since a coach is trying to showcase the team you may not always be playing both halves and coaches only come for 20 minutes or so to watch). Club coaches can make phone calls at this point to help get coaches to come see you; they also can do followups after the events to get coach feedback. Most won't do a thing unless you ask them and even then some are lazy AF. Players should always followup as well.