This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HS JV vs Varsity

We are new to the area. My kid is in the 9th grade, a good player and has the chance to play on the varsity HS soccer team, but is on the smaller than average side, doesn't know people and was hoping to make friends through being on the team.

Just wondering what people's thoughts are on this.

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
    We are new to the area. My kid is in the 9th grade, a good player and has the chance to play on the varsity HS soccer team, but is on the smaller than average side, doesn't know people and was hoping to make friends through being on the team.

Just wondering what people's thoughts are on this.
    It's all up to the school's player pool and needs to which team he makes. Most 9th graders make JV and get called up to varsity if a need.

Comment

I am a boys varsity head coach. A lot will depend on your school and their needs but I almost never bring up freshman who don't have size. We can give them a lot more playing time on JV which is always going to be better than sitting on the bench or only playing 10-15 minutes in a varsity game.

The main reason though is that they would be playing against 18 year old men. High school is very physical because the skill levels vary greatly between players. You'll almost always have that one big kid whose main personal goal is to hurt someone because he lacks skill, they usually pick the smallest and easiest target...

Comment

I am a boys varsity head coach. A lot will depend on your school and their needs but I almost never bring up freshman who don't have size. We can give them a lot more playing time on JV which is always going to be better than sitting on the bench or only playing 10-15 minutes in a varsity game.